Thursday of the Fourth Week of Easter

(Jn 13, 16-20)

When Jesus had washed the disciples’ feet, he said to them:
“Amen, amen, I say to you, no slave is greater than his master
nor any messenger greater than the one who sent him.
If you understand this, blessed are you if you do it.
I am not speaking of all of you.
I know those whom I have chosen.
But so that the Scripture might be fulfilled,
The one who ate my food has raised his heel against me.
From now on I am telling you before it happens,
so that when it happens you may believe that I AM.
Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever receives the one I send
receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

To know one’s proper place in the scheme of things saves one from a lot of trouble. There would be no confusion of roles. One can align one’s energies and efforts in a proper way that facilitates seamless completion of the task. Thus Jesus reminds us today of our servanthood. That we are but executors the Master’s will. If Judas only took this to heart, he would have thought twice in betraying his Master. He could not effect what he wills by forcing the hands of Jesus.

And so Jesus calls us to the blessedness of the wise and faithful servant. The long years spent with Him is no guarantee that the spirit of servanthood will be acquired. It demands more than mere nearness with Him. The heart must be disposed as well.

Fr. Paulson V.Veliyannoor, CMF.

Pray:

Lord, keep me alive in Your love. Please do not let me abuse my freedom to betray You. And if I am weak, please let me know to return to Love. Amen.

Leave a Reply

