Friday of the Fourth Week of Easter

(Jn 14, 1-6)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Do not let your hearts be troubled.
You have faith in God; have faith also in me.
In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places.
If there were not,
would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?
And if I go and prepare a place for you,
I will come back again and take you to myself,
so that where I am you also may be.
Where I am going you know the way.”
Thomas said to him,
“Master, we do not know where you are going;
how can we know the way?”
Jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

A troubled heart seats on a shaky faith. When the heart is not calm we cannot do well in anything, for our concentration is dispersed, not all that is in us participates in the task. Thus even our act of faith is not solid. It is because of this that Jesus exhorts us not to give in to worries and anxieties. He got our backs covered. All we have to do is trust in Him and trust in His Father who sent Him. And even if He seemed remote and inaccessible, we must rest assure that He does things for our benefit.

This is probably what sustained the countless men and women who walked into the dark nights of unseeing and unknowing. Blind but trusting, they walked on in full confidence that He who loved them will never abandon them at any moment of their life. This is the mature faith of the blessed that Jesus is telling Thomas. To trust in Him is to always find the way into the marvelous light of God no matter how deep and heavy the darkness in our life may be.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Pray:

Lord, may I always be convinced that I can not come to the Father without going into the way of the Lord, especially the way of the Cross. If I do not come to the Lord, with the Body and Blood of Christ, if I do not listen to and practice the Word of God, I will never reach the Father who is the true source of happiness. Jesus, let me choose You as the life and life of my life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

