Monday of the Fifth Week of Easter

(Jn 14: 21-26)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Whoever has my commandments and observes them
is the one who loves me.
Whoever loves me will be loved by my Father,
and I will love him and reveal myself to him.”
Judas, not the Iscariot, said to him,
“Master, then what happened that you will reveal yourself to us
and not to the world?”
Jesus answered and said to him,
“Whoever loves me will keep my word,
and my Father will love him,
and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him.
Whoever does not love me does not keep my words;
yet the word you hear is not mine
but that of the Father who sent me.

“I have told you this while I am with you.
The Advocate, the Holy Spirit
whom the Father will send in my name—
he will teach you everything
and remind you of all that I told you.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

Obedience, although not always a sure indicator, is a response of love. It manifests outwardly our desire to please the beloved. Thus Jesus uses the criteria of keeping His commandments in knowing who loves Him or not. But experience tells us that obedience per se is not enough. The reasons behind the obedience are more important than the act itself. For obedience can come from a fearful heart. It can be coerced and demanded. It can also be given under protest.

And so Jesus made a clear that an obedient loving heart is where He and the Father find residence. It is a transformed heart worthy as an abode of the divinity. Hence a transformation in one’s life accompanies once loving obedience to God. The person is slowly being divinized. The Spirit is understood. That transformed person is at ease with all things divine, so much so that listening and getting instructions from the Spirit is nothing but a normal chore. And this kind of person will never forget the word of the Lord. He or she will always be reminded by the Paraclete, The Divine Helper that comes from above.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Pray:

Lord Jesus, You invite me to love You. But to God, love is not just a passing emotion, but it must also be demonstrated through the exercise of God’s will.

Lord, I thank you for knowing God and loving You. Loving You is my happiness. And I will try to faithfully keep the Word of God every day. By keeping the Word of God, please gives me true eternal joy. Amen.

Leave a Reply

