Thursday of the Fifth Week of Easter

(Jn 15: 9-11)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“As the Father loves me, so I also love you.
Remain in my love.
If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love,
just as I have kept my Father’s commandments
and remain in his love.

“I have told you this so that
my joy might be in you and
your joy might be complete.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

Love is a complicated word. It is so powerful that its misuse sometimes lead to fatal consequences. That is why Jesus was careful to pronounce words of love to His disciples. This is not just a feeling that springs from a happy, grateful or magnanimous heart. His love for His disciples is a commitment. He will take responsibility of this love professed to them. That is why He traces the origin of this love. As the Father loved Him so He will love His own. So the Father is the originator of this love. Jesus has experienced this love and is now willing to share it. He had the love in abundance from His loving Father. He does not need to invent it on His own. So whenever we make an act of love, may it flow from a heart that knew of Jesus’ love so that it will ultimately connect with the love of the Father.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Pray:

Lord, there is no sweet and pleasant invitation for the call of love. That sweetness is even more wonderful when this call of love from God Himself.

Please teach me to live a sharing love like God, to fill my life with joy and happiness, because “the giver is better than the receiver”. Amen.

Leave a Reply

