Sixth Sunday of Easter

(Jn 14, 15-21)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“If you love me, you will keep my commandments.
And I will ask the Father,
and he will give you another Advocate to be with you always,
the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot accept,
because it neither sees nor knows him.
But you know him, because he remains with you,
and will be in you.
I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.
In a little while the world will no longer see me,
but you will see me, because I live and you will live.
On that day you will realize that I am in my Father
and you are in me and I in you.
Whoever has my commandments and observes them
is the one who loves me.
And whoever loves me will be loved by my Father,
and I will love him and reveal myself to him.”

usccb.org

Read: The Samaritans receive the Good News and are baptized. Peter preached about witnessing to the Gospel by one’s conduct in the world. Love of God is proved by one’s faithfulness to God’s commandments.

Reflect: Living in Christian fidelity, when the world invites us to go the other way, is no easy task. One cannot do it by oneself, one needs a helper. Thus, Jesus promises the Holy Spirit as the indwelling helper to see us through the Christian mandate. Where does my allegiance lay and to whom do I lean – the Spirit of the world or the indwelling Spirit of God? And Why?

Pray: Ask God to keep you ever connected to His indwelling presence.

Act: Do an examination of conscience over the commandments and the beatitudes. What does it tell of your love of God?

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Leave a Reply

