Tuesday of the Sixth Week of Easter

(Jn 16: 5-11)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Now I am going to the one who sent me,
and not one of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’
But because I told you this, grief has filled your hearts.
But I tell you the truth, it is better for you that I go.
For if I do not go, the Advocate will not come to you.
But if I go, I will send him to you.
And when he comes he will convict the world
in regard to sin and righteousness and condemnation:
sin, because they do not believe in me;
righteousness, because I am going to the Father
and you will no longer see me;
condemnation, because the ruler of this world has been condemned.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

The earth is not the end of our destination but the starting point of our journey. That is why Jesus could not stay on earth forever. He has to move on in order to complete His itinerary. He has to go back to His Father in heaven, back where it all begun. It is back to the Father who sent His only Son to the world to redeem it. But His disciples could not even ask Him where He is going. They were locked up in their grief. They focused on their loss and not on what they could gain when Jesus continues on in His Journey.

It’s funny that sometimes we focus on the drama rather than on the bigger picture. We so like to wallow in tears and self-pity. But Jesus will have none of it. The role of the Spirit will not unfold in human history if He stays. And so, there are things that need to be done no matter what the cost because it will usher something that will be for the greater good. Drama is good, but we need a certain dose of reality sometimes.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Pray:

Holy Spirit, please enlighten the soul and burn the fire of love in my heart. May Advocate help me more and more to know and love Jesus. May God protect me from the attack of the devil trying to draw me away from Jesus and against Him. In the midst of a world trying to get God out, please help me to be faithful to Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

