Wednesday of the Sixth Week of Easter

(Jn 16: 12-15)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“I have much more to tell you, but you cannot bear it now.
But when he comes, the Spirit of truth,
he will guide you to all truth.
He will not speak on his own,
but he will speak what he hears,
and will declare to you the things that are coming.
He will glorify me,
because he will take from what is mine and declare it to you.
Everything that the Father has is mine;
for this reason I told you that he will take from what is mine
and declare it to you.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

Sometimes there are still many things to tell while time is running out. It is only when moments are counted that the urgency is felt. But then again, you realize that it is not the act of telling that is important. The hearer must be ready too in order to understand it. Or else, it is just one among the many words that they will conveniently forget. what they have will be a vague recollection of something that you once told them. The heart is not ready to receive it yet.

And so Jesus knew when the stop. He knows that His followers could not bear His words for the moment. But it does not mean that He abandons His plan to teach and instruct them. He will leave the task to the Spirit. The Spirit will continue what Jesus has started. It is in such moment as this that helpers are most welcome. The Spirit Helper will fill what Jesus could not accomplish in human time. It is because the Trinity is a community of love that Jesus could bank on the support of the other Persons in the Trinity. It is not a task solely of His own. He has a loving community that supports Him.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Pray:

Jesus, so that I may receive the fullness of the work of salvation, You have given me the Holy Spirit. You reveal to me that the Holy Spirit is the teacher who teaches me, helping me to understand all the Lord’s teachings and to bring me into full truth. Through the Holy Spirit, I recognize that Jesus is God, and that the Blessed Trinity is united.

May the Holy Spirit help me to discover God more, to understand God more, to experience the great love of God. Your words silently in me, let me listen. And do not let me deliberately dismiss Your voice in my soul. Amen.

Leave a Reply

