Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter

(Jn 16: 16-20)

Jesus said to his disciples:
“A little while and you will no longer see me,
and again a little while later and you will see me.”
So some of his disciples said to one another,
“What does this mean that he is saying to us,
‘A little while and you will not see me,
and again a little while and you will see me,’
and ‘Because I am going to the Father’?”
So they said, “What is this ‘little while’ of which he speaks?
We do not know what he means.”
Jesus knew that they wanted to ask him, so he said to them,
“Are you discussing with one another what I said,
‘A little while and you will not see me,
and again a little while and you will see me’?
Amen, amen, I say to you,
you will weep and mourn, while the world rejoices;
you will grieve, but your grief will become joy.”

usccb.org

Reflect:

Little children sometimes display anxiety when they could not see the familiar face of their parents or love ones. They become insecure and afraid. This childish behavior is translate into adult behaviors as well. They fear of separation is as much a part of adult life too. That is why Jesus is preparing His disciples for the momentary separation that will take place ahead. They will not have Him physically present always. Time will come when they have to hold on to His memories in their heart to continue the task at hand. This process will be slow and painful. It is better to start early. And so when the disciples will enter the dark and painful nights of the passion and death of the Lord, they will remember His words and hopefully it will comfort them and sustain them.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

Pray:

Jesus, my life is woven from many events. Each incident creates different moods. Sometimes I feel so happy because my life is okay. But a lot when I am depressed, the time too heavy stress.

In the past, the Lord became joyful and comforting to the disciples. So, in the absence of God, they gave up and were disappointment. Today, the Lord has risen and is present in my life, helping me to find God’s will, as a joy filled with my heart. Amen

Leave a Reply

