Monday of the Seventh Week of Easter

(Jn 16: 29-33)

The disciples said to Jesus,
“Now you are talking plainly, and not in any figure of speech.
Now we realize that you know everything
and that you do not need to have anyone question you.
Because of this we believe that you came from God.”
Jesus answered them, “Do you believe now?
Behold, the hour is coming and has arrived
when each of you will be scattered to his own home
and you will leave me alone.
But I am not alone, because the Father is with me.
I have told you this so that you might have peace in me.
In the world you will have trouble,
but take courage, I have conquered the world.”

usccb.org

Teachings are vague when you do not have the key to properly understand them. This is what the disciples before felt when it comes to Jesus’s teaching. Probably it is so because they still are at a loss in front of a teaching that is based in love. They have not yet honed their hearts to receive this new orientation. It was easy before to have a legalistic approach to faith. To know what is right and wrong and to act accordingly does seemed to be a neat way of evaluating one’s life before God.Not so with the new commandment to love. They have to make an effort to imbibe it.

And so this makes them outcast from a world that think differently. They will have trouble in the world. But Jesus assures them to take up courage. He unleashed a force that will never be silenced in this world. This force will always act independently for or against what the world espouses. This is the power of love. That is why Jesus overcome the world.

Fr. Paulson V. Veliyannoor, CMF

prayer05

Lord, living in the world which full of bad examples and theories that go against Your way, please let me always be courageous, let me remember that God did not forewarn me of good things, but it was a reminder of the suffering, injury and disadvantage associated with the ideal of serving the Lord. Therefore, when I encounter adversities, I do not surprise but will accept with my love to God. With love, I will overcome all. When I share in the Cross I also share the glory of the resurrection.

Jesus, give me the courage to follow the Lord every day, although my life is more difficult and challenging; May I always trust in God, because only God is the way, the truth and the life forever for me.

Leave a Reply

